In a Vase on Monday: quiet anticipation

If you stand outside and shut your eyes, you can definitely hear it – the birds know it’s coming; their songs have shifted up a gear – and in the warm sunshine of recent days it’s easy to feel in your bones that early spring is here. Of course, winter could come back and bite us but I’m taking it as it comes at the moment and savouring the simple pleasures of a blue sky, a calm sea, busy birds on our feeders and the joy of finding early spring flowers dotted around garden.

Snowdrops in the lawn and in clumps in the borders, primroses in the wildflower patch and in borders, violets and muscari in the cracks and crevices in the paving. We have divided clumps of snowdrops and spread them around the garden (post-flowering) in recent years but the violets, muscari and primroses appear where they want to and we’re happy to let them do their thing. Spears of the narcissi I planted in the lawn under the window where I sit at my desk are around 20cm tall so those will be flowering in the next few weeks and the new tulips in pots are coming up. The tulips in the borders are a little behind but they’re pushing through the soil and there are bluebell leaves already carpeting the area under the cherry tree by the bottom gate.

There is so much floral loveliness to look forward to but in the meantime I’m enjoying the bright sunshine colour of these daffs (4 bunches in tight bud for £3 at the market on Saturday which opened within 24 hours in the warmth indoors) and a small posy of tiny spring flowers I picked in the garden this morning – violets, primroses, snowdrops and a single muscari. I seared their stems for a few seconds in boiling water to hopefully keep them looking perky for a few days. For more flower therapy, do visit Cathy at Rambling in the Garden to see what she and other garden bloggers from around the world have found to put in their Monday vases today.

It’s half term this week and my younger two are off school. My first-born has also come home from university for a few days for home cooking and laundry services. He’s still in bed (I think he misses his bed most of all) but my younger son is out having a driving lesson and my daughter is in town with a friend so all is quiet here. I can hear a robin singing its heart out in the garden and the soft snore of my dog dozing after a good walk this morning. It should be a fairly laid-back week with a few appointments and commitments but plenty of time to catch up. I have an appointment at the fracture clinic on Friday (oh, I am counting down the days) and I’m daring to hope that the cast will come off at last. I’m eager to start strengthening exercises so I can get busy in the garden as soon as possible. My secateurs are calling me!

Wishing you a thoroughly good week.

34 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday: quiet anticipation

  1. So much hope for spring and further healing of your fracture. Thanks for the beautiful breath of spring and let’s hope that Jack Frost has been shown the door by mother nature!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I do so hope there is a positive result from the clinic on Friday – last time was such a disappointment. These little signs of spring that you mention send joy straight to the heart, don’t they? I love your dinky little blue vase and its tiny treasures, and the narcissi bring a big splash of sunshine too. Thanks for finding time to join us today and enjoy the half term week

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Good luck for Friday, I have everything crossed that the cast can come off at last. Beautiful spring flowers, and you’re right, it is building out there. The frogs are ready and the birds are singing. CJ xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Your tiny blooms provide a wonderful prelude to spring, Sam. My fingers are crossed that your cast does indeed come off this week so that you’re ready and able to jump into your garden activities when the season arrives in all its glory.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Kris. The cast came off (hurrah!) but it’ll be a while before I can use it properly as it’s very stiff and sore. Progress, though!

      Like

  5. Yes, it is palpable now, isn’t it? I really noticed the dawn chorus this morning. Good luck with your cast coming off – it will be so good to get out and garden.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s such a hopeful time of year, isn’t it? My cast is off but it’ll be a while before my wrist is back to normal – very weak and sore! Never mind, onwards! Hope all’s good in your corner of Kent 🙂

      Like

      1. I get the impression that violets are particularly common in most regions. They can do well here, but they do not get far from water if naturalized. Grape hyacinth can also do ‘too’ well, but only where it gets water. I intend to add some grape hyacinth to my garden just because they are so traditional to me.

        Like

Please leave a comment if you'd like to. I love reading them. Making connections with people is the nicest part of blogging.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.