A short break

photo-13

Tomorrow, very early in the morning, I am going away for five whole days On My Own. Well, not strictly alone but without the family. A couple of girlfriends and I are off to visit a friend in southern Spain and it will be the longest I’ve been away since I had the children. I’ve had the occasional weekend away but I’ve not been overseas without them and I’ve not been away for more than a couple of nights. It feels very strange to be packing my bag.

Military planning is required: copious lists written, instructions given, fridge stocked. It’s slightly complicated by the fact that David now works away but my lovely parents are stepping in until he can get home. I had been feeling slightly overwhelmed by the planning involved (probably over-planning on my part) until I had a lovely message from my friend in Spain to say that the pool is very swimmable and we are to make ourselves completely at home – ‘wander about, swim, do nothing, do something, whatever you feel’. Doesn’t that sound wonderful? I am taking a couple of books and a notebook, and no electronic devices other than my phone. Adios amigos x

14 thoughts on “A short break

  1. How exciting! My sister and I managed to get a weekend away together when our youngest children were both two, but after that I never quite managed it again until the boys were quite grown up.
    Lucky you to have such lovely parents willing and able to step in.
    Have a fab time!

    Like

  2. This is so exciting! Go away and have fun BUT you must take a camera so that you can come back and tell us all about it. Please search out some lovely Mediterranean flowers for me.

    Like

  3. Hope you have a wonderful time! It’s hard to leave them , but sounds like you have put all your planning in place for everyone,and you will love spending time with your friends! X

    Like

Please leave a comment if you'd like to. I love reading them. Making connections with people is the nicest part of blogging.

