Lows and highs

 

Wind and rain scattered cherry blossom over the garden.
Wind and rain scattered cherry blossom over the garden.

 

The long weekend didn’t turn out quite as expected. Poor David was ill which meant a sleepless night for both of us on Friday, and Saturday was subsequently a wash-out. I was due to head to London for a friend’s pre-wedding party but sadly had to send my apologies – I couldn’t leave the children with a poorly dad and I was exhausted and definitely not feeling my best. I did tackle a huge pile of ironing, though, which made me feel a bit better. (Oh, the high life!)

One of my favourite colour combinations in the garden green, purple and orange – a cheering sight.
One of my favourite colour combinations in the garden – green, purple and orange – always cheers me up.

The rest of the weekend has been very low-key, which is sometimes what  you need. Pottering around the garden and the greenhouse (checking for snails), walking the dog, snuggling up and watching tv with the kids, early nights.

The tulips are looking so fabulous right now that I have to show you another photo!
The tulips are looking so fabulous right now that I have to show you some more!

 

Oh, and I made scones. I do most of the baking in our house, but making scones is David’s thing. And, I have to admit it, he does make the BEST scones. This is not an exaggeration – they are legendary in our family. Still, it was just what I fancied and David definitely wasn’t up to making them. I followed the same recipe and they were perfectly acceptable but they were ‘not as good as dad’s’, as my middle son bluntly told me (while happily scoffing one).

photo 1

David’s scones
Makes about 12 using a medium cutter

4oz caster sugar, plus extra for sprinkling on top
4oz butter (or block margarine for dairy-free)
1 egg, beaten
1lb self-raising flour
enough milk to bind to a dough (use almond or soya milk for dairy-free)
a handful of sultanas

1. Preheat your oven to 200 degrees C and grease a baking sheet.
2. Use a mixer to beat the sugar and butter together until light and fluffy.
3. Add the egg a bit at a time until mixed in.
4. Add the flour and and whizz for a while – you’ll end up with a fairly dry breadcrumb mixture.
5. Tip the mixture into a large mixing bowl and pour in just enough milk to bring it all together to form a dough. This shouldn’t be sticky.
6. Add the sultanas and knead lightly to mix them in.
7. Turn out onto a floured surface and roll out to about 2.5cm thick. Cut out your scones and place onto your baking sheet. Sprinkle the tops with sugar.
8. Pop into the oven for 12–15 minutes (depending on how fierce your oven is). I’d check after 10 and turn the tray to ensure even baking.

Best eaten while still warm from the oven – with jam and clotted cream if you have some, or just butter/spread if you don’t. Hopefully you’ll get higher praise than I did!

photo 2

 

5 thoughts on “Lows and highs

  1. Your garden shots are gorgeous!!! I love that color combination as well! So sorry that you missed your party and that your husband was ill. No fun…but the scones that you made look delicious! Happy gardening this week friend! Nicole xo

    Like

  2. Bless you for staying home and looking after everyone. I’ve had moments when I should have been out in my finery but instead I’m at home doing the cleaning or something really mundane, so I know how it feels. I hope David is completely better now. The scones look pretty good to me, you’ve reminded me how much I like them, I shall have to bake some soon. CJ xx

    Like

  3. What a gorgeous header shot and your garden looks beautiful.
    It is blowing a gale in Devon as I write, blossom petals all over the place here too. I’ve just had to brave the elements in a bid to rescue the poppies!
    I hope your husband is on the mend.

    Like

Please leave a comment if you'd like to. I love reading them. Making connections with people is the nicest part of blogging.

